Abhishek becomes cochairman of advisory panel of TMCP

first_imgKolkata: Abhishek Banerjee, president of Trinamool Youth Congress and the party’s MP, has become the co-chairman of the advisory committee of the Trinamool Chhatra Parishad (TMCP).Partha Chatterjee, party’s secretary general is the chairman of the committee. The other members are Ashok Deb, Tapas Roy and Baisanar Chattopadhyay. Jaya Dutta, former TMCP chairperson, is the convenor of the committee.A high-level meeting was held at Trinamool Bhavan on Saturday afternoon in which the general secretaries and unit presidents of the TMCP were present. It was decided that the members of the former TMCP committee will tender resignation to Baisanar Chattopadhyay within a week so that the new committee may be constituted. It may be mentioned that party supremo Mamata Banerjee had announced the reconstitution of the committee at the rally to celebrate the TMCP Foundation Day on August 28. Also Read – Rain batters Kolkata, cripples normal lifeSubrata Mukherjee, veteran student leader of the 1970s and state Panchayats and Rural Development minister, shared his experiences with the young leaders during an interactive session. Chatterjee said outsiders will not be allowed in the colleges. The party will not tolerate any disturbance by the students and the sole responsibility of the TMCP units will be to assist the students to achieve better academic goals. He said the TMC wants more and more students, particularly girls, to participate in politics so that they can become future leaders.Chatterjee said people from all walks of life will take part in the rally that will be held to protest the spiraling price rise of petrol and diesel on September 10. The rally will start from Moulali at 3 pm and end at Dorina Crossing. He added that those taking part in the rally will march along one side of the road so that buses and vehicles can ply without any inconvenience.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *